The Recreation Ground
The Recreation Ground was sold to the parish of Bekesbourne in 1957 by the Conyingham family estate. Under a charitable scheme created in 1997 the ground is owned by the parish council of Bekesbourne-with-Patrixbourne as custodian trustee and managed on its behalf by a committee of trustees appointed annually.
The object of Bekesbourne Recreation Ground charity is ‘the provision and maintenance of a Recreation Ground for the benefit of the inhabitants of the Parish of Bekesbourne and Patrixbourne and neighbouring areas’.
The recreation ground is enjoyed by the whole community, families, dog walkers and clubs all make the most of this lovely space.
The Play Area
The play area is dedicated to the late Albert Wilson who ran the village youth club for many years. It boasts a beautiful open plan area, where families can enjoy the open space and wooden play equipment. There is also football goals and a basket ball court. The play area is insured and maintained by the parish council.
The play area is currently closed as of 1/2/21 for approximately 3 weeks while it undergoes a complete renovation.
In the early days the pavilion was on the other side of Old Palace Lane. The Sports Club build the current pavilion in the 1980s. It was extended in the 1990s to include a bar area. The Pavilion has recently undergone a 'facelift' in 2019, including the updating of the floor and toilet facilities. The pavilion is a real community asset, hosting the weekly 'BREW' coffee morning and is used regularly by the local football clubs.
The pavilion is available to hire for functions. To enquire, please click the button below.